Recent ICAC Cases


26
Jan 2024
Ex-chief operations officer of medical device firm charged as ICAC probe reveals $3.1m project payments fraudA then chief operations officer of a medical device firm was charged by the ICAC yesterday (January 25) with fraud after a corruption investigation revealed that he allegedly defrauded the medical device firm payments of over $3.1 million for a research and development (R&D) and production project by making false representation that an international corporation was the buyer of the project.Francis Fung Chung-hung, 73, former chief operations officer of Flussig Medtech Limited (Flussig), faces one count of fraud, contrary to Section 16A(1) of the Theft Ordinance. He was released on bail, pending his appearance at the Eastern Magistrates’ Courts next Tuesday (January 30) for mention, when the case will be transferred to the District Court for plea.In 2018, the defendant invited an investor to invest in the R&D and production project of a medical device. The investor subsequently set up Flussig to run the project and employed the defendant as its chief operations officer. Due to the slow progress of the project, the defendant recommended the investor to invest in another R&D and production project of a coffee machine to make profit to fund the medical device project.The investor agreed to invest in the coffee machine project through Flussig and accepted defendant’s recommendation to engage BM Technology Design Limited (BM Tech) and Wargames Factory Limited (Wargames Factory) for software development, manufacturing plastic parts and supplying prototype.It is alleged that between October 2019 and April 2020, the defendant, with intent to defraud, induced Flussig to settle payments totalling over $3.1 million with BM Tech and Wargames Factory by falsely representing to Flussig that an international beverage corporation would purchase the coffee machine project from Flussig.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Enquiries revealed that the international beverage corporation had never entered into any business negotiation or agreement with Flussig.Flussig and the international beverage corporation concerned have rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.
23
Jan 2024
Ex-salesman of groceries supplier charged as ICAC probe reveals fraud of goods worth $12mThe ICAC today (January 23) charged a then senior sales executive of a groceries supplier with fraud after a corruption investigation revealed that he allegedly induced the supplier to release goods worth totalling over $12 million in nine months by making false representations about the orders placed by various clients.Mak Ka-wing, 45, former senior sales executive of Dah Chong Hong Limited (DCH), faces 32 counts of fraud, contrary to Section 16A of the Theft Ordinance. He was released on bail, pending his appearance at the Kwun Tong Magistrates’ Courts on Thursday (January 25) for mention, when the case will be transferred to the District Court for plea.At the material time, the defendant was a senior sales executive of DCH which engaged in the supply of groceries. He was responsible for handling groceries orders placed by clients. Upon receiving a request from a client, an invoice would be issued for arranging release or delivery of goods to the client.In the nine months between August 2020 and April 2021, the defendant, with intent to defraud, allegedly induced DCH to arrange release or delivery of goods with the total value of over $12 million by falsely representing to DCH that 32 clients had ordered goods from the company.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Enquiries revealed that during the abovementioned period, the defendant allegedly caused DCH to release the relevant goods by placing fictitious orders. It is alleged that the defendant subsequently sold the goods to other parties privately but only paid about $278,000 to DCH.DCH has rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.
19
Jan 2024
Telecom company’s assistant manager charged by ICAC in fibre installation service orders conflict of interest case faces perversionA then assistant manager of a telecommunications company and three others were earlier charged by the ICAC for allegedly concealing the assistant manager’s interest in a contractor to secure fibre installation service orders worth totalling $180,000. The assistant manager was today (January 19) laid with an additional perversion charge for allegedly making a false representation about declaring his role in the contractor to the company during the anti-graft agency’s investigation.The four defendants were Chan Chun-kin, 43, former assistant manager of Technical & Service Support Department of i-CABLE Communications Limited (i-CABLE); his girlfriend Fok Yuen-kei, 44; his personal friend Lo Lok-hei, 43, sole director cum shareholder of Lokkin Engineering Limited (Lokkin); and Chan Hau-leung, 36, technician of a contractor of i-CABLE. They earlier pleaded not guilty to three counts of obtaining pecuniary advantage by deception, contrary to Section 18(1) of the Theft Ordinance.When the four defendants appeared at the West Kowloon Magistrates’ Courts for a pre-trial review today, Chan Chun-kin was laid with an additional count of doing an act or a series of acts tending and intended to pervert the course of public justice, contrary to Common Law, upon further legal advice of the Department of Justice.Chan Chun-kin pleaded not guilty to the additional charge. Magistrate Mr Jason Wan Siu-ming adjourned the case to April 2 for trial and granted bail to the four defendants.)At the material time, Chan Chun-kin was an assistant manager of Technical & Service Support Department of i-CABLE. He was responsible for monitoring and evaluating the service quality of contractors engaged by the department to conduct networking installation and maintenance works at customers’ premises and to make recommendation on the engagement of contractors.The policies of i-CABLE stipulated that all employees should avoid actual or potential conflict of interest and that they should fill in and submit declaration forms to declare their conflict of interest in writing to the management.The charges earlier laid against the four defendants alleged that between May and August 2022, they dishonestly obtained for Lokkin opportunities to earn remuneration in respect of three service orders regarding fibre installation at three estates by concealing from i-CABLE that Chan Chun-kin was the beneficial owner and operator of Lokkin.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption investigation. Enquiries revealed that upon Chan Chun-kin’s recommendation, Lokkin was engaged by i-CABLE as a contractor for fibre installation works. Lokkin was subsequently awarded the three service orders of fibre installation for three estates worth totalling $180,000.The additional charge alleged that Chan Chun-kin intended to pervert the course of public justice between mid-September and early October 2022, which was after his arrest by the ICAC. He allegedly made a false representation to i-CABLE that he had submitted a declaration form to the company in late 2021 to declare his role in Lokkin.An ICAC spokesperson notes that perverting the course of public justice is a serious offence. An offender is liable on conviction to an imprisonment for any term and a fine of any amount. Should such illegal acts be found in ICAC cases, the Commission would not tolerate them and would follow up on them in a serious manner.i-CABLE has rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by Senior Public Prosecutor Claudia Ng, assisted by ICAC officer Chris Lai.
10
Jan 2024
Property officer charged by ICAC guilty of conspiring with renovation contractor to deceive IOThe ICAC had earlier charged a then property officer of a property management company and a renovation contractor as a corruption investigation revealed that they had conspired together to deceive the Incorporated Owners (IO) of a private residential building in To Kwa Wan into awarding a water pipe replacement project to the contractor by using false quotations. The property officer was today (January 10) convicted of conspiracy to defraud at the Kowloon City Magistrates’ Courts while the renovation contractor, who pleaded guilty earlier, was jailed for two months and two weeks.Lau Cheuk-yan, 42, former property officer of Harbourfield Property Management Limited (Harbourfield), was today convicted of one count of conspiracy to defraud, contrary to the Common Law. She was granted bail until January 24 for sentence, pending her background report.Co-defendant Chan Kam-wah, 57, director-cum-shareholder of Hing Fat Building Maintenance Company Limited (Hing Fat), earlier pleaded guilty to the conspiracy to defraud charge; and three counts of possessing a false instrument, contrary to section 75(2) of the Crimes Ordinance.Magistrate Mr Philip Chan Chee-fai remarked that the court had to mete out a custodial sentence given the serious nature of the case involving false instruments.At the material time, Harbourfield provided property management service to Sunny Court, a private residential building in To Kwa Wan. Staff of Harbourfield were required to source at least three quotations from its approved contractors before conducting any renovation works worth between $10,000 and $200,000.In 2021, Harbourfield conducted a quotation exercise for the Sunny Court to select a renovation contractor for a water pipe replacement project. The IO of Sunny Court received three quotations via Lau. In May 2021, the project was awarded to Hing Fat, which offered the lowest bid of $70,000.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Enquiries revealed that the two engineering companies concerned were not approved contractors of Harbourfield and they had never submitted the two quotations. But Lau and Chan conspired together to defraud the IO of Sunny Court by falsely representing that the two quotations were genuine. It was also revealed that Chan possessed three other false quotations purportedly issued by one of the two engineering companies to another residential building, a commercial building and a shopping mall.Harbourfield and the IO of Sunny Court had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by Senior Public Prosecutor Steven Liu, assisted by ICAC officer Potina Koo.
09
Jan 2024
Newspaper’s sales rep duo admit bribing supervisor for commissions over event sponsorshipsTwo sales representatives of the advertising department of a newspaper company, charged by the ICAC, admitted at the District Court today (January 9) their offering of bribes totalling about $88,000 to a supervisor after receiving commissions of a total of over $260,000 for securing event sponsorships.Lee Kwok-wai, 50, former sales representatives of Hong Kong Commercial Daily (HKCD); and Ngo Kam-fai, 44, sales representatives of HKCD, respectively pleaded guilty to four counts and one count of offering an advantage to an agent, contrary to Section 9(2)(a) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO).Lee further admitted one count of conspiracy for an agent to solicit an advantage, contrary to Section 9(1)(a) of the POBO and Section 159A of the Crimes Ordinance. Two other similar charges against him were left on file at the District Court.Judge Mr Clement Lee Hing-nin adjourned the case to March 6 for mention, and granted the duo bail.At the material time, Lee and Ngo were sales representatives of the advertising department of HKCD responsible for sourcing sponsors for various events organised by HKCD. Upon securing a sponsorship, they were entitled to 10 per cent of the sponsorship amount as commission. An assistant general manager of the advertising department would assist them in securing sponsorships. The assistant general manager would receive bonuses after each event or at the end of the year, subject to the profits made, but he was not entitled to share the commissions of the duo. Meanwhile, HKCD did not allow its staff to solicit or accept any advantage in relation to its business.The court heard that between November 2019 and November 2021, Lee and Ngo were responsible for sourcing sponsorships for four events organised by HKCD. The duo eventually sourced sponsorships totalling over $2.6 million. Afterwards Lee and Ngo respectively received commissions of over $240,000 and $17,000.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Enquiries revealed that the assistant general manager accompanied Lee and Ngo to meet various sponsors. The duo admitted that after securing the sponsorships, they respectively offered four bribes totalling about $83,000 and a bribe of $5,000 to the assistant general manager upon the latter’s request.Lee further admitted that between September 2021 and February 2022, he conspired together with the assistant general manager to solicit a bribe of $5,000 from another sales representative who rejected the request. The sales representative was entitled to a commission of $17,800 for securing sponsorships totalling $178,000 in one of the events of HKCD.HKCD had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by Acting Senior Public Prosecutor Jason Lau, assisted by ICAC officer Rita Li.Daniel Wu Hang-chi, 43, the assistant general manager concerned, was earlier charged by the ICAC with bribery. No plea was entered and his case was adjourned to February 29 for mention.

Back To Top

近期的廉署案例 (商界)


26
2024年1月
廉署調查貪污揭醫療儀器公司前營運總監涉嫌詐騙項目費用310萬元廉政公署調查貪污時,揭發一名醫療儀器公司時任營運總監涉嫌訛稱一間國際公司為一個研發生產項目的買家,詐騙醫療儀器公司逾310萬元項目費用。廉署昨日(1月25日)落案起訴該名前營運總監欺詐罪。馮宗熊,73歲,富識醫療技術有限公司(富識)前營運總監,被控一項欺詐罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第16A(1)條。他已獲廉署准予保釋,以待案件下星期二(1月30日)在東區裁判法院提訊及轉介區域法院答辯。被告於2018年底邀請一名投資者投資一個醫療儀器研發生產項目,投資者其後成立富識以營運該項目,並聘請被告為其營運總監。由於該項目發展進度緩慢,被告遂建議投資者投資另一項咖啡機研發生產項目,以其盈利為醫療儀器項目提供資金。該投資者同意透過富識投資該咖啡機項目,並同意被告的建議,聘用BM Technology Design Limited (BM Tech)及韋奇工業有限公司(韋奇)為項目進行軟件開發、製造塑膠零件及供應原型機。被告涉嫌於2019年10月至2020年4月期間,向富識訛稱一間國際飲料公司會向富識購買該咖啡機項目,意圖詐騙而誘使富識向BM Tech及韋奇支付共逾310萬元。廉署早前接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現該國際飲料公司從來沒有與富識洽談任何生意或達成任何協議。富識及該國際飲料公司在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。
23
2024年1月
廉署調查貪污揭糧油雜貨供應商前營業員涉詐騙1,200萬元貨品廉政公署調查貪污時,揭發一名糧油雜貨供應商時任高級營業代表涉嫌訛稱多個客戶曾向供應商訂購貨品,誘使供應商九個月內發放總值逾1,200萬元的貨品。該名時任高級營業代表今日(1月23日)被廉署落案起訴。麥家榮,45歲,大昌貿易行有限公司(大昌行)前高級營業代表,被控32項欺詐罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第16A條。他已獲廉署准予保釋,以待案件星期四(1月25日)在觀塘裁判法院提訊及轉介區域法院答辯。大昌行的業務包括糧油雜貨供應。案發時被告是大昌行高級營業代表,負責處理客戶所下的糧油雜貨訂貨單。大昌行接獲客戶訂貨要求後,會開出發票以安排發放或交付貨品予客戶。被告涉嫌於2020年8月至2021年4月的九個月期間,向大昌行訛稱32個客戶向公司訂購了貨品,意圖詐騙而誘使大昌行安排發放或交付總值逾1,200萬元的貨品。廉署早前接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現被告涉嫌在上述期間輸入虛假訂貨單,致使大昌行發放有關貨品。其後,被告涉嫌私自將該些貨品轉售予其他公司,但只繳付約27.8萬元貨款予大昌行。大昌行在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。
19
2024年1月
隱瞞利益衝突騙取光纖安裝訂單案:廉署加控電訊商助理經理妨礙司法公正廉政公署早前落案起訴一名電訊商時任助理經理及另外三人,控告他們涉嫌隱瞞助理經理在一間承辦商的利益,以取得電訊商數份光纖安裝服務訂單,總值約18萬元。該助理經理涉嫌在廉署調查期間,向電訊商訛稱曾申報他於承辦商的角色,今日(1月19日)被加控一項妨礙司法公正罪名。四名被告為陳俊健,43歲,有線寬頻通訊有限公司(有線寬頻)前技術支援服務部助理經理;其女友人霍琬其,44歲;其友人盧樂熙,43歲,諾建工程有限公司(諾建工程)唯一董事兼股東;及陳孝樑,36歲,有線寬頻一間承辦商的技術員。四人早前否認三項以欺騙手段取得金錢利益罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第18(1)條。廉署獲律政司進一步法律意見後,於各被告今日在西九龍裁判法院出席審前覆核時,加控陳俊健一項作出傾向並意圖妨礙司法公正的作為或一連串作為罪名,違反普通法。陳俊健否認新增控罪,裁判官溫紹明將案件押後至4月2日進行審訊,並准許四名被告繼續保釋。案發時陳俊健為有線寬頻技術支援服務部助理經理,負責監督及評估為客戶進行網絡安裝及維修工程的承辦商的服務質素,以及向公司建議委聘承辦商。有線寬頻的政策訂明,所有僱員需避免實際或潛在利益衝突,亦需填寫及遞交聲明表格,以書面形式向管理層申報利益衝突。四名被告早前被控涉嫌於2022年5月至8月期間,向有線寬頻隱瞞陳俊健為諾建工程的實益擁有人及經營者,不誠實地為諾建工程取得賺取報酬的機會,涉及三個住宅屋苑的三份光纖安裝服務訂單。廉署接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現有線寬頻按陳俊健建議,委聘諾建工程為其光纖安裝工程承辦商。諾建工程其後獲判該三個住宅屋苑三份光纖安裝服務訂單,總值約18萬元。新增控罪指陳俊健涉嫌意圖妨礙司法公正,於2022年9月中至10月初期間,即他被廉署拘捕後,虛假地向有線寬頻表示他已於2021年底向有線寬頻呈交聲明表格,交代他於諾建工程的角色。廉署發言人提醒市民,妨礙司法公正是嚴重罪行,一經定罪可處以任何監禁刑期及任何罰款金額。如發現在廉署案件中有該等違法行為,廉署定必嚴肅跟進,絕不姑息。有線寬頻在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由高級檢控官吳卓樺代表出庭,並由廉署人員賴捷協助。
10
2024年1月
遭廉署起訴物管主任串謀工程承辦商詐騙大廈法團罪成候判廉署早前調查貪污時,揭發一名物業管理公司時任物業主任與一名工程承辦商,以虛假報價單串謀詐騙土瓜灣一幢私人住宅大廈的業主立案法團(法團),將一項水管更換工程判授予該承辦商。時任物業主任今日(1月10日)在九龍城裁判法院被裁定串謀詐騙罪名成立,工程承辦商早前認罪,今日判囚兩個月兩星期。劉灼恩,42歲,港匯物業管理有限公司(港匯)前物業主任,今日被裁定一項串謀詐騙罪名成立,違反普通法。她獲准保釋至1月24日判刑,以待索取其背景報告。同案被告陳錦華,57歲,興發屋宇維修有限公司(興發)董事兼股東,早前承認上述串謀詐騙罪名,以及三項管有虛假文書罪名,違反《刑事罪行條例》第75(2)條。裁判官陳志輝表示案件性質嚴重,涉及虛假文書,法庭須判處監禁式刑期。港匯於案發時為土瓜灣私人住宅大廈順麗閣提供物業管理服務,其員工必須向公司認可工程承辦商取得最少三份報價,方可進行價格介乎一萬元至20萬元的維修保養工程。港匯於2021年為順麗閣邀請報價,以挑選工程承辦商進行水管更換工程。順麗閣法團其後經劉灼恩接獲三份報價單,當中興發的報價最低,為七萬元,法團遂於2021年5月將該項工程判授予興發。廉署接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現興發以外兩間工程公司並非港匯的認可工程承辦商,亦沒有提交該等報價單,但劉灼恩串謀陳錦華詐騙順麗閣法團,訛稱該兩張報價單為真實。調查亦發現陳錦華管有另外三份虛假報價單,該等報價單看來是由上述其中一間工程公司向另外一幢住宅大廈、一幢商業大廈及一個商場發出。港匯及順麗閣法團在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由高級檢控官廖偉雄代表出庭,並由廉署人員古雅姬協助。
09
2024年1月
報館兩銷售代表承認行賄上司取活動贊助獲佣金候判廉政公署早前落案起訴兩名報館廣告部銷售代表,控告他們在取得活動贊助而獲支佣金共逾26萬元後,向上司提供賄款共約88,000元。二人今日(1月9日)在區域法院承認行賄罪名。李國維,50歲,及敖錦輝,44歲,分別為香港商報(商報)前銷售代表及銷售代表,各承認四項及一項向代理人提供利益罪名,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(2)(a)條。李國維又承認一項串謀使代理人索取利益罪名,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(1)(a)及《刑事罪行條例》第159A條。他涉及的另外兩項相類串謀罪名則由區域法院法庭存檔。法官李慶年將案件押後至3月6日再提訊。二人獲准保釋。案發時李國維及敖錦輝為商報廣告部銷售代表,負責為商報舉辦的活動物色贊助商,如他們成功取得贊助,可獲得贊助總額的一成作佣金。監督二人工作的廣告部助理總經理會協助他們取得活動贊助,並會在活動後或每年底,視乎盈利情況而獲得花紅,但他無權分享二人的佣金。商報亦不准許其職員因為其業務而索取或接受任何利益。案情透露,李國維及敖錦輝於2019年11月至2021年11月期間,為商報舉辦的四項活動物色贊助商,並為商報取得贊助費共逾260萬元。李國維及敖錦輝其後分別獲得佣金逾24萬元及17,000元。廉署接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現廣告部助理總經理主動陪同李國維及敖錦輝與贊助商會面。二人承認在取得贊助後,應助理總經理要求分別向對方提供四筆共約83,000元及一筆5,000元的賄款。李國維並承認於2021年9月至2022年2月與助理總經理串謀,向另一名銷售代表索取賄款逾5,000元,唯遭對方拒絕。該名銷售代表就上述其中一項商報活動,因取得贊助費共17.8萬元而獲支佣金17,800元。商報在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由署理高級檢控官劉卓賢代表出庭,並由廉署人員李佩珊協助。涉案助理總經理胡桁誌,43歲,早前亦被廉署落案起訴貪污罪名。他尚未答辯,案件押後至2月29日再提訊。

回到頂部