Recent ICAC Cases


16
Aug 2022
Four charged by ICAC over $13 million mortgage loan fraudFour mortgage loan applicants were charged by the ICAC today (August 16) in separate cases for allegedly defrauding a financial services company into granting them loans totalling about $13 million by making false representations about their occupations and salaries.The defendants are four mortgage loan applicants, aged between 49 and 57. Cheung Leung, Pang Suet-yin, Yeung Pui-hung, and Johnson Szeto Keung-sang, face a total of five counts of fraud, contrary to Section 16A(1) of the Theft Ordinance.They were released on ICAC bail, pending their appearance in the Eastern Magistrates’ Courts on Thursday (August 18) for plea.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Upon completion of the investigation, the ICAC sought legal advice from the Department of Justice, which advised charging the four persons.The first three cases involving Cheung, Pang and Yeung allegedly took place between June 2018 and January 2019. During the period the trio applied for mortgage loans with OCBC Wing Hang Credit Limited (Wing Hang Credit) through two financial intermediaries.The charges allege the trio, together with other persons, falsely represented to Wing Hang Credit that they were respectively senior managers of a company and an education centre, and a manager of a logistics company with monthly salaries ranged from $85,000 to $150,000 and with intent to defraud, induced Wing Hang Credit to approve their applications for three mortgage loans ranged from $1.7 million to about $3.8 million, which resulted in benefit to them, or in prejudice to Wing Hang Credit.The case of Szeto allegedly occurred between May and August 2018. At the material time, Szeto applied for a mortgage loan and a decoration loan for a property owned by his father with Wing Hang Credit through another financial intermediary.The two charges allege that Szeto, together with other persons, falsely represented to Wing Hang Credit that he was an engineering director of an engineering company with a monthly salary of over $200,000 and with intent to defraud, induced Wing Hang Credit to approve a mortgage loan of $3.1 million and a decoration loan of $800,000 to him, which resulted in benefit to Szeto, or in prejudice to Wing Hang Credit.Wing Hang Credit has rendered full assistance to the Commission during its investigation into the case.
12
Aug 2022
Ex-money exchange branch manager charged by ICAC admits using false documents over $7.5m remittanceA former branch manager of a currency exchange company, charged by the ICAC, today (August 12) admitted at the West Kowloon Magistrates’ Courts that he had used remittance application forms containing false information to deceive the company that a customer had settled the remittance amount in full before remitting a total of over $7.5 million.Au Yeung Hin, 28, former branch manager of Hui’s Brothers Foreign Currency Exchange Company Limited (Hui’s Brothers), pleaded guilty to nine counts of agent using document with intent to deceive his principal, contrary to Section 9(3) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance. The prosecution offered no evidence to another similar charge against him.Deputy Magistrate Mr Tsang Hing-tung adjourned the case to August 26 for sentence, pending the defendant’s background report and remanded him in the custody of the Correctional Services Department.At the material time, the defendant was a branch manager of Hui’s Brothers. He was responsible for overseeing the operation of a branch in Tsuen Wan. When handling a remittance, staff members of the branch were required to submit to Hui’s Brother a remittance application form containing details of a remittance. According to the company’s policy, a remittance would only be processed after a customer had settled the remittance amount in full.The court heard that on nine occasions between November 23, 2020 and January 4, 2021, the defendant submitted a total of 16 remittance application forms to Hui’s Brothers requesting to remit a total of over $7.5 million for a customer. On each of the application forms, the defendant falsely stated that the remittance amount had been settled by cash by the customer.The ICAC inquiries revealed that the customer had only made a partial payment to Hui’s Brothers after each remittance was handled but not settling the remittance amount in full in advance. Had Hui’s Brothers known of it, the company would not have processed the remittance applications. As of January 4, 2021, the customer still owed Hui’s Brothers an outstanding amount of over $2 million.Hui’s Brothers had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by ICAC officers Wily Chan and Jayne Woo.
11
Aug 2022
Ex-button manufacturer co-owner and insurance agent charged by ICAC over inflated premium fraudA former co-owner of a button manufacturer and an insurance agent were charged by the ICAC today (August 11) for allegedly conspiring together to deceive the manufacturer into renewing its products liability insurance policies at inflated annual premiums for six years involving a total of over $470,000.Leung Kwok-wai, 46, former co-owner of Dmark Metal Button Company Limited (Dmark); and Luk Kam-wai, 60, insurance agent of AIG Insurance Hong Kong Limited (AIG); jointly face six counts of conspiracy to defraud, contrary to Common Law.The defendants were released on ICAC bail, pending their appearance in the Eastern Magistrates’ Courts next Monday (August 15) for plea.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint referred by the Insurance Authority (IA). Upon completion of the investigation, the ICAC sought legal advice from the Department of Justice, which advised charging the two defendants.The offences took place between October 2013 and November 2018. At the material time, Leung was a co-owner of Dmark holding half of its shares. Luk was the handling agent of Dmark’s products liability insurance policy taken out with AIG.During the period, AIG issued six renewal quotations to Luk for the annual renewal of Dmark’s policy. According to the policy of AIG, Luk was allowed to collect premium payments from Dmark on behalf of AIG, deduct his relevant commissions, and return the remaining sum to the insurer.The charges allege that Leung and Luk conspired together to defraud Dmark by dishonestly falsely representing that the premiums for products liability insurance policies taken out by Dmark with AIG between 2013 and 2019 were over $470,000 in total, thereby causing and inducing Dmark to pay the premiums to a company of Luk.The ICAC investigation revealed that at the material time, Luk had allegedly overstated the premiums concerned by over $170,000 in total and passed the sums to Leung.The IA and AIG have rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.
08
Aug 2022
Two ex-insurance agents charged by ICAC sentenced for $700,000 commission and compensation fraudTwo former insurance agents, charged by the ICAC, were respectively sentenced to 18 months’ jail and 160 hours of community service at the District Court today (August 5) for deceiving an insurer into releasing commissions and compensation totalling about $700,000 by making false representations on the occupations and incomes of nine insurance policy applicants, and falsely representing that they were injured after the insurance policies were successfully taken out.Leung King-kei 36, former insurance agent of AIA International Limited (AIA), was sentenced to 18 months’ imprisonment. He earlier pleaded guilty to five counts of fraud, contrary to Section 16A of the Theft Ordinance; and four counts of conspiracy to defraud, contrary to Common Law.Co-defendant Yu Shing-yin, 36, former insurance agent of AIA, who earlier pleaded guilty to one count of conspiracy to defraud jointly charged with Leung, was today ordered to perform 160 hours of community service.Judge Mr Gary Lam Kar-yan reprimanded the defendants for their breach of trust. In sentencing Leung, the judge said he took a starting point of 30 months’ imprisonment and reduced the jail term to 18 months having considered Leung’s guilty plea and repayment to his former employer. A community service order was imposed on Yu in view of the relatively minor role he played in the scam.The court heard that AIA provided different insurance products to its clients. When processing an application for taking out an insurance policy, AIA would consider the client’s occupation, annual income and medical history, etc.The offences took place between July 2016 and July 2018. At the material time, Leung was an insurance agent of AIA. After being promoted to unit manager in December 2017, he was entitled to receive overriding commissions. Yu was Leung’s down-line insurance agent.The court heard that Leung had alone or conspired together with Yu, another down-line insurance agent and four policyholders to defraud AIA by making false representations on the occupations of the policyholders and monthly incomes of nine policyholders in nine insurance policy applications.AIA approved the nine insurance policy applications and paid commissions totalling about $95,000 to Leung and his down-line insurance agents.ICAC investigation revealed that false representations were made on the policyholders’ injuries in the relevant insurance claims, causing AIA to release insurance compensations totalling about $600,000 to the policyholders.The investigation arose from a corruption complaint filed with the ICAC. Upon completion of the investigation, the ICAC sought legal advice from the Department of Justice, which advised charging Leung and Yu. Some of the above policyholders and down-line insurance agents were earlier charged by the ICAC in separate cases and pleaded guilty to their respective charges. Their cases are adjourned to mid-August for sentence.AIA had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation.The prosecution was today represented by Public Prosecutor Caddy Mo, assisted by ICAC officer Keaton Ma.The ICAC will continue to join hands with the industry to promote integrity and anti-corruption messages to insurers and insurance practitioners. In collaboration with the industry, the Commission had produced a guidebook which assisted insurers to strengthen their corruption prevention capabilities in key operational areas such as verification of commissions and claims.ICAC’s dedicated webpage tailor-made for the insurance industry“Corruption Prevention Guide for Insurance Companies”
04
Aug 2022
Ex-manager of insurance broker charged by ICAC admits referral fee fraudA former sales manager of an insurance broker, charged by the ICAC, today (August 4) admitted at the Eastern Magistrates’ Courts that she had induced the firm into paying referral fees totalling over $19,000 to her husband by making false representations that he was the referrer of 18 insurances policies taken out by clients.Anny Pang Wai-chun, 52, former sales manager of Cinergy Insurance Services Limited (Cinergy), pleaded guilty to seven counts of fraud, contrary to Section 16A of the Theft Ordinance. The prosecution offered no evidence to three similar charges against her.Principal Magistrate Ms Ada Yim Shun-yee adjourned the case to August 18 for sentence, pending the defendant’s background and community service order reports. The defendant was remanded in the custody of the Correctional Services Department.The court heard that at the material time, Cinergy was an insurance broker which assisted clients in taking out various insurance policies, including employees’ compensation, public liability and vehicles insurance. For insurance policies successfully taken out, Cinergy would receive commissions from the relevant insurance companies.Cinergy allowed its sales managers to recruit referrers for client referral. For each successful referral, Cinergy would pay the referrer a referral fee. In April 2018, the defendant recruited her husband as a referrer.The defendant admitted that between July 2018 and August 2020, she had falsely represented to Cinergy that her husband was the referrer of 18 policies taken out by seven policyholders. As a result, Cinergy was induced to pay referral fees totalling over $19,000 to the defendant’s husband.ICAC investigation revealed that the above policyholders, who did not know the defendant’s husband, had only contacted the defendant in respect of their insurance applications. Had Cinergy known that the defendant’s husband had not referred those policyholders to the firm, it would not pay him any referral fees in relation to the policies taken out.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Cinergy had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by ICAC officer Beta Leung.

Back To Top

近期的廉署案例 (商界)


16
2022年8月
廉署起訴四人涉嫌詐騙按揭貸款共約1,300萬元廉政公署今日(8月16日)分案起訴四名按揭貸款申請人,控告他們涉嫌虛報職業及薪金,詐騙一間財務公司向他們批出貸款共約1,300萬元。四名被告為按揭貸款申請人,年齡介乎49歲至57歲。張良、彭雪燕、楊佩紅及司徒強生被控共五項欺詐罪罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第16A(1)條。各人已獲廉署准予保釋,以待星期四(8月18日)在東區裁判法院答辯。廉署調查源於貪污投訴,完成調查後向律政司徵詢法律意見,並按有關法律意見落案起訴該四名人士。首三宗涉及張良、彭雪燕及楊佩紅的案件被指發生於2018年6月至2019年1月,三人當時透過兩間財務中介公司向華僑永亨信用財務有限公司(永亨財務)申請按揭貸款。有關控罪指三人涉嫌各自與其他人士一同向永亨財務偽稱,她們分別是一間公司和一間教育中心的高級經理,以及一間物流公司的經理,月薪由8.5萬元至15萬元不等,並意圖詐騙而誘使永亨財務批出三筆由170萬元至約380萬元的按揭貸款,而導致她們獲得利益或永亨財務蒙受不利。司徒強生的案件被指發生於2018年5月至8月,當時他為其父親所持有的一個物業透過另外一間財務中介公司,先後向永亨財務申請按揭貸款和裝修貸款。該兩項控罪指司徒強生涉嫌與其他人士,一同向永亨財務偽稱他是一間工程公司的工程總監,月薪逾20萬元,並意圖詐騙而誘使永亨財務向他批出310萬元的按揭貸款及80萬元的裝修貸款,而導致他獲得利益或永亨財務蒙受不利。永亨財務在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。
12
2022年8月
遭廉署起訴找換店前店長承認使用載有虛假陳述文件涉750萬元匯款廉政公署早前落案起訴一名找換店前店長,控告他以多份載有虛假資料的匯款申請書欺騙該店,訛稱一名顧客在匯款前已結清匯款金額,涉逾750萬元。被告今日(8月12日) 在西九龍裁判法院承認控罪。歐陽獻,28歲,許氏兄弟外幣找換有限公司(許氏兄弟)前店長,承認共九項代理人意圖欺騙其主事人而使用文件罪名,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(3)條。他另外一項相類罪行則獲控方不提證供起訴。暫委裁判官曾慶東將案件押後至8月26日判刑,以待索取被告的背景報告。被告暫時還押懲教署看管。被告於案發時是許氏兄弟店長,負責監督荃灣一間分店的營運。在處理匯款時,該分店職員需向許氏兄弟呈交匯款申請書,交代匯款詳情。根據公司規定,許氏兄弟會在顧客繳清匯款額後方處理匯款。案情透露,被告於2020年11月23日至2021年1月4日期間,先後九次向許氏兄弟提交共16份匯款申請書,要求為一名顧客匯款共逾750萬元。被告在每份申請書上均訛稱匯款人已以現金結清匯款額。廉署調查發現,該顧客並沒有在匯款前結清匯款額,而是在許氏兄弟完成處理每筆匯款後才繳付部分款項。如許氏兄弟知悉此事,便不會處理相關匯款申請。截至2021年1月4日,該顧客尚欠許氏兄弟逾200萬元。許氏兄弟在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由廉署人員陳嘉敬及胡康琪代表出庭。
11
2022年8月
廉署起訴製鈕商前合夥人及保險經紀涉嫌誇大保費詐騙廉政公署今日(8月11日)落案起訴一名鈕扣製造商前合夥人及一名保險代理,控告他們涉嫌串謀詐騙該製造商,就其逐年續保的產品責任保險保單,支付遭誇大的保費,六年保費共涉47萬元。梁國偉,46歲,德耀五金鈕扣有限公司(德耀)前合夥人;及陸錦偉,60歲,美亞保險香港有限公司(美亞)保險代理,同被控六項串謀詐騙罪名,違反普通法。二人已獲廉署准予保釋,以待下星期一(8月15日)在東區裁判法院答辯。廉署早前接獲保險業監管局(保監局)轉介貪污投訴遂展開調查,完成調查後向律政司徵詢法律意見,並按有關法律意見落案起訴兩名被告。本案於2013年10月至2018年11月期間發生,當時梁國偉是德耀合夥人,持有該公司一半股份。德耀向美亞購買產品責任保險保單,陸錦偉為保單經手代理。上述期間,美亞就德耀逐年續保的保單,向陸錦偉發出六份續保報價單。根據美亞的政策,陸錦偉可以代表美亞向德耀收取保費,從中扣減其佣金,再將剩餘款項交予美亞。控罪指梁國偉及陸錦偉一同串謀詐騙德耀,即不誠實地向德耀偽稱,該公司向美亞購買的產品責任保險保單,2013年至2019年的保費共逾47萬元,從而導致和誘使德耀向陸錦偉一間公司支付有關保費。廉署調查顯示,陸錦偉涉嫌於案發期間誇大相關保費共逾17萬元並把款項交給梁國偉。保監局及美亞在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。
08
2022年8月
遭廉署起訴兩前保險代理人詐騙佣金及賠償70萬元判刑廉政公署早前落案起訴兩名前保險代理人,控告他們虛報九名投保人的職業及收入,並於對方成功投保後訛稱他們受傷,詐騙一間保險公司發放佣金及賠償共約70萬元。兩名被告今日(8月5日)在區域法院分別判監18個月及160小時社會服務令。梁景麒,36歲,友邦保險(國際)有限公司(友邦保險)前保險代理人,被判入獄18個月。他早前承認五項欺詐罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第16A條;及四項串謀詐騙罪名,違反普通法。同案被告余勝賢,36歲,友邦保險前保險代理人,與梁景麒同被控一項串謀詐騙罪名。他早前認罪,今被判處須履行160小時社會服務。法官林嘉欣斥責被告違反誠信,並在向梁景麒判刑時稱,決定以監禁30個月為量刑起點,考慮到他認罪及已向前僱主歸還涉案款項,故將刑期扣減至18個月。法官又考慮余勝賢在案中扮演較輕角色,故向他判處社會服務令。案情透露,友邦保險為客戶提供不同保險產品,在處理投保申請時,會考慮客戶的職業、年薪及病歷等。本案於2016年7月至2018年7月期間發生。梁景麒當時任職友邦保險的保險代理人,他於2017年12月獲晉升為小組經理後可獲取上線佣金。余勝賢是梁景麒的下線保險代理人。案情透露,梁景麒曾獨自或串謀余勝賢、另一名下線保險代理人及四名投保人詐騙友邦保險,在九份保單申請中虛報投保人職業及每月收入。友邦保險批准該九份保單申請,以及向梁景麒及其下線保險代理人支付佣金共約95,000元。廉署調查發現,有關人士在相關保險索償中虛報該等投保人受傷,導致友邦保險向投保人支付保險賠償共約600,000元。廉署早前接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,完成調查後向律政司徵詢法律意見,並按有關法律意見落案起訴梁景麒及余勝賢。上述部份投保人及下線保險代理人早前亦被廉署分案起訴並承認控罪,案件將於8月中判刑。友邦保險在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由檢控官毛倩倩代表出庭,並由廉署人員馬健文協助。廉署將繼續與業界合作,向保險公司及保險從業員推廣誠信及防貪信息,並編製指南以協助保險公司加強防貪能力,內容涵蓋主要營運範疇例如核實代理人佣金及理賠。廉署為保險業特設的網站專頁 《保險公司防貪指南》
04
2022年8月
遭廉署起訴保險顧問公司前經理承認欺詐推薦費候判廉政公署早前落案起訴一名保險顧問公司前經理,控告她訛稱丈夫推薦多名客戶購買18份保單,誘使該公司向其丈夫發放推薦費共逾1.9萬元。被告今日(8月4日)在東區裁判法院承認控罪。彭惠珍,52歲,先機保險顧問有限公司(先機保險)前銷售經理,承認7項欺詐罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第16A條。她另外三項相類罪行獲控方不提證供起訴。主任裁判官嚴舜儀將案件押後至8月18日判刑,以待索取被告的背景及社會服務令報告。被告暫時還押懲教署看管。案情透露,保險顧問公司先機保險案發時協助客戶購買各類保單,包括僱員賠償、公眾責任保險及汽車保險等。如客戶成功投保,先機保險會獲保險公司支付佣金。先機保險容許其銷售經理招攬推薦人向公司推薦客戶,並會按成功介紹個案,向推薦人發放推薦費。被告於2018年4月招攬其丈夫作為推薦人。被告承認於2018年7月至2020年8月期間,向先機保險偽稱其丈夫是七名投保人共18份保單的推薦人。先機保險因而遭誘使向被告的丈夫發放推薦費共逾1.9萬元。廉署調查顯示,上述投保人均不認識被告的丈夫。他們就其保險申請,只曾接觸被告。如先機保險知道被告丈夫並沒有推薦該等投保人,便不會就他們的保單向被告丈夫發放推薦費。廉署早前接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,先機保險在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由廉署人員梁國棟代表出庭。

回到頂部