Case Studies

Search Case Studies

All Areas of Concern

Search Case Studies

All Areas of Concern

False sick leave certificates

CS077
Trades / Industries:

Dr N operates a clinic with many large corporate clients offering medical benefits to their employees.  He is usually busiest on Mondays as many patients from these companies visit him on that day complaining about soreness  in  different  parts  of  the  body.    It  is  obvious  that  after  their escapades over the weekend, the “patients” actually do not like working on Mondays and want one day’s sick leave.

 

Winnie, the secretary of one of the companies and a regular “patient” of Dr  N,  visited  the  clinic  on  a  Monday  morning.    As  usual,  she  brought imaginary ailments to Dr N to get a day off.   Dr N suggested a “win-win deal” to Winnie that she did not really have to show up at his clinic.   She could simply tell him her complaint over the phone.  Without actually seeing or treating Winnie, Dr N could issue a certificate to certify that Winnie was unfit for work.   He would then claim the consultation fee from Winnie’s company. Dr N further asked Winnie to introduce the scheme to her colleagues.   Being unaware of the plot, Winnie’s company wasted a large amount of medical expenses.

Case Analysis

Dr N would commit an offence of deception as he obtained by deceit consultation  fees  from  Winnie’s  company  by  issuing  false  sick  leave certificates to its staff without conducting any consultation or diagnosis. Moreover, Dr N and those staff joining in the scam would also commit an offence of conspiracy to defraud the company.

 

Dr  N  might  also  violate  Section  3.1  of  the  Professional  Code  and Conduct issued by the Medical Council of Hong Kong (Nov 2000) which prohibits  doctors  from  signing  untrue  certificates.    The  doctor  would  be subject to disciplinary action for failing to comply.

 

Dr N not only puts his own career at stake but his misconduct will also undermine public confidence in the medical profession.

 

Back To Top

个案研究

搜寻个案研究

所有关注领域

搜寻个案研究

所有关注领域

虚假病假证明书

CS077
行业/行业:
关注的领域:

N  医生的诊所是不少大型公司指定为其员工提供医療服务的医療机构。N医生通常在星期一最为忙碌,因为很多职员都会在当天向他诉說身体不适,但明显地他们是在週末狂欢后不想上班而希望得到一天病假。

 

某公司的秘书慧妮是 N 医生的「常客」,在一个星期一的早上,她如常往見 N 医生提出感到不适,希望获得病假。N 医生于是向慧妮建议一个「双赢」的做法,就是慧妮不用亲身到诊所看病,只须在电话中告诉他有何不适,他便会签发一张病假纸给她,然后向慧妮的公司收取诊症费。N 医生更要求慧妮向同事推销这个计划。慧妮的公司一直被蒙在鼓裡,结果浪费了一大笔医療费用。

个案分析

N 医生未有亲自诊症,便向慧妮所属公司的职员签发虚假病假证明书,欺骗该公司的诊症费用,触犯了欺诈罪。

 

N 医生亦可能违反香港医务委员会制定的《香港註册医生专业守则》(二零零零年十一月修订)第 3.1 条。该条文禁止医生签发内容失实的证明书,违纪者会遭受纪律处分。

 

N 医生这样做不但把自己的事业作为赌注, 他的失当行为更会损害公众对医療专业的信心。

回到顶部