Who has robbed my hard-earned money?
Hong Kong Business Ethics Development Centre Independent Commission Against Corruption

Synopsis

Ali is on his first day of work at a construction site. Knowing that Ali would like to introduce his relative to work at the same site, the foreman asks for an "introduction fee" for getting his relative a job opportunity. The foreman also solicits tea money from Ali for keeping his job in the site. Noting that the other workers have been following the "trade practice" to pay the tea money, Ali feels being exploited but does not know what to do.

Question 1

The foreman solicits introduction fees and tea money from his construction workers. Does the foreman commit any offence?

Tips from iSir According to Section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, the foreman is an agent (employee) of the construction company. He commits an offence as he, without the permission of his principal (employer), solicits and accepts advantages (introduction fees and tea money) from the workers in exchange for arranging them to work in the construction site. The workers as well as the job seekers also commit the corruption offence by offering advantages to the foreman.

According to Section 2 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, an advantage means any gift, loan, reward, commission, employment, contract, service, favour, discharge of any liability, etc (entertainment excluded). There is no limit on the monetary value of an advantage. Therefore, no matter how much money is involved, the act above is already in breach of the law.

Question 2

The foreman points out that the other workers give him the introduction fees and tea money because it is a “trade practice”. Can “trade practice” or “custom” be an excuse for accepting advantages?

Tips from iSir According to Section 19 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, it shall not be a defence even if the advantage is customary in any profession / trade / vocation / calling in any proceedings for an offence under this Ordinance. The foreman commits Section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance as he, without the permission of his principal (employer), abuses his position to solicit and accept introduction fees and tea money from the workers.

Question 3

Tips from iSir According to the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, anyone who offers an advantage to an agent for a job will breach the law. Therefore, Ali should decline to offer at the outset and report to the ICAC as soon as possible so as to safeguard his own interest and avoid being implicated in corruption.
Don’t bribe for jobs and be a smart job seeker!

Anyone who pays bribes to get a job or to keep a job not only results in being exploited of wages, but also needs to bear criminal liability for corruption. If the foreman solicits introduction fee or tea money from you, you should refuse at the outset and report to the ICAC as soon as possible. The ICAC 24-hour report hotline: 25 266 366. Adopt a zero tolerance to corruption and enjoy the fruits of your hard work.

誰搶走我的血汗錢?
香港廉政公署 香港商業道德發展中心

簡介

工頭知道初來報到的阿里想介紹同鄉到地盤工作,要求給予介紹費,以協助其同鄉獲取工作機會;他更借機向阿里索取茶錢,以維持繼續受聘。眼見其他工友已跟隨「行規」給予茶錢,把辛苦賺來的血汗錢與工頭分享,阿里心有不甘,但卻又不知如何是好。

問題 1

iSir話你知 根據《防止賄賂條例》第9條,工頭是建築公司的代理人(僱員),如他沒有獲得其主事人(僱主)的同意,利用職權向地盤工人索取及收受利益(介紹費及茶錢),作為安排他們在地盤工作及繼續受聘的報酬,即觸犯索賄及受賄罪。地盤工人,以至求職者也會因為提供利益而觸犯行賄罪。

根據《防止賄賂條例》第2條,「利益」包括任何形式的饋贈、貸款、報酬、佣金、職位、合約、服務、優待、代支付費用等(款待除外),而且沒有金額限制。因此,不論所涉及的金額多寡,有關行為已觸犯法例。

問題 2

工頭指出其他工友也是按照「行規」給予介紹費及茶錢,你認為行規、慣例可否作為收受利益的理由?

iSir話你知 根據《防止賄賂條例》第19條,在貪污訴訟中,授受利益雙方不能以「行規」、「慣例」等作為辯護理由。無論如何,地盤工頭未有獲得其主事人的批准,濫用職權,向工人索取及收受介紹費和茶錢,已觸犯《防止賄賂條例》第9條。

問題 3

iSir話你知 根據《防止賄賂條例》,向代理人提供利益以換取工作會觸犯法例。 所以,為免被牽連於貪污罪行當中,阿里必須即時拒絕工頭的要求,並盡快向廉政公署舉報。
介紹費?勿亂給!

做個醒目求職者,切勿透過行賄獲取工作機會。任何人為了尋找或保住工作而向他人行賄,不但令自己的工資被剝削,更會因貪污而須負上刑責。要是工頭向你索取介紹費或茶錢,應該馬上拒絕,並盡快向廉政公署舉報。廉署24小時舉報熱線:25 266 366。對貪污零容忍,才可享受努力工作的成果。