'Master Chef' is no easy job
Hong Kong Business Ethics Development Centre Independent Commission Against Corruption

Synopsis

Wah is the head chef of a Chinese restaurant which enjoys good business. He is in charge of sourcing food suppliers, placing orders, inspecting and receiving goods, and managing staff, etc. Wah is highly appraised and well-trusted by the restaurant owner. Yet, is this "Master Chef" competent enough to handle the potential risks of corruption or malpractices in his daily work?

Question 1

The assistant chef Ho accepts rebates from the food supplier Keung. Does Ho commit any offence?

Tips from iSir According to Section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, Ho is an agent (employee) of the restaurant, he commits an offence as he, without the permission of his principal (employer), solicits and accepts an advantage (5% rebate) from the food supplier Keung in exchange for showing favours to Keung’s company (including conniving at Keung’s inflated invoice price, short delivery and substandard seafood quality, etc.). Keung also commits a corruption offence by offering the advantage to Ho.

Question 2

Tips from iSir According to Section 2 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, an advantage means any gift, loan, reward, commission, employment, contract, service, favour, discharge of any liability, etc (entertainment excluded). There is no limit on the monetary value of an advantage. Although Wah may repay the debt eventually, the loan is still considered an advantage. According to Section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, Wah as an agent (employee) of the restaurant, commits an offence if he, without the permission of his principal (employer), accepts an advantage (loan) from food supplier Keung in exchange for showing favours to Keung’s company (including turning a blind eye to Keung’s short and late delivery, substandard seafood quality, etc.). Therefore, employee should avoid engaging in frequent gambling activities, or accepting loans from persons having business dealings with the company, so as to stay away from corruption traps.

Question 3

The assistant chef Ho invites Wah to set up a seafood business and supply seafood to the restaurant they are working in. Is there any risks of corruption or malpractices?

Tips from iSir Ho and Wah are responsible for procuring food for the restaurant. If they set up their own seafood business to supply food to the restaurant they are working in, it will be an obvious conflict of interest situation. If employees cannot avoid a conflict of interest, they should declare it to the company for making appropriate arrangements. On the other hand, if they use falsified documents with an intent to deceive their principal, e.g. deliberately concealing their relationship with the supplier, overstating the quantity of food supplies, including some bogus food items in the invoices, etc., they may commit an offence under Section 9(3) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance.

Apart from great culinary skills, a "Master Chef" should have a high standard of integrity. Say no to rebates and avoid conflict of interest. Restaurants can develop a mechanism for staff to declare conflict of interest, set up a system to evaluate the suppliers’ performance, and regularly review and compare prices to ensure the prices quoted by the selected suppliers are reasonable. The Hong Kong Business Ethics Development Centre is ready to offer tailor-made corruption prevention and education services to your company. You are welcome to contact us at 2587 9812 or by e-mail to [email protected] for more details.

「廚房一哥」唔易做
香港廉政公署 香港商業道德發展中心

簡介

酒樓大廚華哥主理的菜色深受顧客歡迎,並得到老闆信任和器重。但「廚房一哥」要掌管訂購食材、挑選供應商、驗貨收貨,以至管理員工等事務,他有沒有處理好潛在的貪污舞弊風險呢?

問題 1

iSir話你知 根據《防止賄賂條例》第9條,阿豪是酒樓的代理人(僱員),如他沒有獲得其主事人(僱主)的同意,利用職權向食材供應商細強索取及收受利益(百分之五的回扣),作為在驗收細強公司提供的海鮮食材時,對細強公司予以優待(包括對誇大發票價格、來貨不足、海鮮質素低劣等視而不見)的報酬,即觸犯索賄及收賄罪。細強也會因此而觸犯行賄罪。

問題 2

iSir話你知 根據《防止賄賂條例》第2條,「利益」包括任何形式的饋贈、貸款、報酬、佣金、職位、合約、服務、優待、代支付費用等(款待除外),而且沒有金額限制。縱使華哥或會清還有關欠款,借貸已構成利益收受。根據《防止賄賂條例》第9條,華哥作為酒樓代理人(僱員),如沒有獲得其主事人(僱主)的同意,利用職權向食材供應商細強收受利益(借貸),作為對細強公司予以優待(包括對來貨不足及延誤、海鮮質素低劣等視而不見)的報酬,即觸犯受賄罪。因此僱員應避免與公司有業務往來的人士進行頻密的賭博活動或接受他們提供的貸款,以免墮入貪污的圈套。

問題 3

二廚阿豪邀請華哥合作做海鮮批發,並供貨予自己工作的酒樓,當中有否存在貪污舞弊的風險?

iSir話你知 阿豪與華哥負責替酒樓採購食材,他們合作開公司供應食材給自己工作的酒樓,明顯涉及利益衝突。僱員若無法避免利益衝突的出現,則應向公司申報,讓公司作出適當的安排。另外,若阿豪與華哥利用虛假文件意圖欺騙僱主,例如蓄意隱瞞他們與供應商的關係、在發票上誇大食材供應數量或加入虛假的食材項目等,便有可能觸犯《防止賄賂條例》第9(3)。

要成為「廚房一哥」,除了廚藝了得,也要誠信兼備,拒絕回佣及避免利益衝突。酒樓食肆可建立員工利益衝突申報機制及評核供應商表現的制度,定期檢討和比較價格,以確保所選供應商的報價合理。香港商業道德發展中心樂意為你的公司提供量身訂做的防貪教育服務,歡迎致電2587 9812或電郵[email protected]與我們聯絡。