Recent ICAC Cases


20
Apr 2023
Insurance agent charged as ICAC graft probe reveals alleged $1.5m commissions fraudAn insurance agent was charged by the ICAC today (April 20) for allegedly defrauding an insurer of commissions totalling about $1.5 million by making false representations that 20 clients had taken out various insurance policies.Yeung Yan-to, 31, former insurance agent of AXA China Region Insurance Company Limited (AXA), faces two counts of conspiracy to defraud, contrary to the Common Law. He will be brought to the Eastern Magistrates’ Courts tomorrow (April 21) for plea.At the material time, the defendant was an insurance agent of AXA, while a branch manager of AXA was his up-line agent. When an insurance product was sold, the handling agent and his/her up-line manager would be entitled to a first-year commission and an overriding commission respectively.Between August 2017 and June 2018, AXA received 21 insurance policy applications purportedly taken out by 20 clients and handled by the defendant or another down-line agent of the branch manager.It is alleged that the defendant had conspired with the branch manager and the down-line agent to defraud AXA by dishonestly falsely representing to the insurer that the applications were genuinely made by those clients, causing AXA to approve the applications and release commissions to the trio.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Investigation revealed that the clients did not make the above applications and had never paid any premium for the policies. Those insurance policies eventually lapsed after subsequent premiums were not paid.Had AXA known that the 21 applications contained false information, it would not have approved them and released commissions totalling about $1.5 million to the defendant, the branch manager and the down-line agent.AXA has rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.
20
Apr 2023
Ex-employee of fast food restaurant chain charged by ICAC admits concealing conflict of interest in works contractorA former assistant engineer of a fast food restaurant chain, charged by the ICAC, today (April 20) admitted at the Fanling Magistrates’ Courts that he had deceived the restaurant chain into awarding two works projects to a contractor by concealing that he was the latter’s major shareholder.Chan Yiu-wa, 53, former assistant engineer of Café de Coral Group Limited (Café de Coral Group), pleaded guilty to two counts of fraud, contrary to Section 16A of the Theft Ordinance.Acting Principal Magistrate Mr Colin Wong Sze-cheung adjourned the case to May 3 for sentence, pending the defendant’s background and community service order reports. The defendant was granted bail.The court heard that the defendant was Café de Coral Group’s assistant engineer between February and early December 2021. Among other duties, he was responsible for sourcing quotations from contractors for engineering and maintenance works for a plant of Café de Coral Holdings Limited (Café de Coral Holdings) – the parent company of Café de Coral Group.As set out in the employee handbook of Café de Coral Holdings, employees of Café de Coral Holdings and its subsidiaries should avoid any conflict of interest. An employee must declare to Café de Coral Holdings if he or she has any interest in an organisation which has business dealings with Café de Coral Holdings and its subsidiaries.Between March and September 2021, the defendant was assigned to source quotations from contractors for two works projects – a replacement work of a security booth and a maintenance work of an air-conditioning system for the abovementioned plant.The defendant submitted three quotations for each of the projects and recommended Café de Coral Holdings to award the project to Leading Gain Engineering Co. Limited (Leading Gain) on both occasions. The two works projects, involving payments totalling about $70,000, were eventually awarded to Leading Gain.The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Enquiries revealed that the defendant was the sole director and major shareholder of Leading Gain at the material time. However, the defendant had never made any declaration to Café de Coral Holdings over the issue. Had Café de Coral Holdings known of the directorship and shareholding of the defendant in Leading Gain, it would not have engaged Leading Gain to carry out the two works projects.Café de Coral Holdings had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by ICAC officer William Leung.The ICAC reminds employees to avoid conflict of interest situations and to make timely declarations to their employers. Concealing any conflict of interest in relation to one’s official duties to benefit himself or his associates may contravene the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance and other criminal law.The ICAC recommends companies to establish clear guidelines and declaration systems of conflict of interest with which employees should strictly comply. “How to handle conflict of interest"
19
Apr 2023
Ex-site team leaders charged by ICAC with accepting $100,000 bribes from Third Runway Project’s bar-bendersTwo former site team leaders of a sub-contractor of the Third Runway Project of the Hong Kong International Airport (Third Runway Project) were charged by the ICAC today (April 19) with accepting illegal rebates totalling about $100,000 from five bar-benders for continuing their employment with the sub-contractor.Xu Ergao, 47; and Guo Tianbao, 42, both former site team leaders for bar-bending works of MLife Engineering Limited (MEL), face five counts of conspiracy for agents to accept advantages, contrary to Section 9(1)(a) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance. They were released on ICAC bail, pending their appearance at the West Kowloon Magistrates’ Courts for plea on Friday (April 21).MEL was a sub-contractor of the Third Runway Project responsible for recruiting construction workers to conduct various works. Xu and Guo were site team leaders leading the same team of bar-benders working at the project’s construction site.It is alleged that between August 2020 and April 2021, the two defendants conspired with five bar-benders separately to accept five illegal rebates, each ranging from about $3,900 to about $33,000 and totalling about $100,000, to assist the five bar-benders to continue their employment with MEL.An ICAC spokesperson urges construction workers not to tolerate corruption. Should they be asked to pay illegal rebates in exchange for their employment, they should report to the ICAC immediately. Report corruption hotline: 25 266 366.In recent years, the ICAC had taken a series of enforcement actions against illicit acceptance of illegal rebates from construction workers. Regarding the Third Runway Project, 23 former employees of the main contractor and a sub-contractor of the project were charged by the ICAC with bribery. Eleven of the defendants had pleaded guilty or were found guilty after trial, receiving sentences up 10 months in jail. Nine others are awaiting trial, while the prosecution offered no evidence against a defendant. The remaining duo are the defendants in this case, who will enter plea on Friday.As the relevant investigation is continuing, the ICAC does not rule out further law enforcement actions.The Airport Authority Hong Kong, the relevant main contractor SAPR JV and MEL have rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.
19
Apr 2023
Ex-bank manager charged by ICAC admits bribing colleague for referring mortgage loan clients to financial intermediaryA former bank manager, charged by the ICAC, today (April 19) admitted at the Kwun Tong Magistrates’ Courts that she had bribed a colleague for referring residential mortgage loan clients of a subsidiary of the bank to a financial intermediary for arranging mortgage refinancing from other banks or financial institutions.Amy Chow Bik-sum, 47, former assistant customer service manager of OCBC Wing Hang Bank Limited (OCBC Wing Hang Bank), pleaded guilty to one count of offering an advantage to an agent, contrary to Section 9(2) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance.Deputy Magistrate Ms Erica Chong Ching-wai adjourned the case to May 5 for sentence, pending the defendant’s background and community service order reports. The defendant was remanded in the custody of the Correctional Services Department.At the material time, the defendant was posted to a branch of OCBC Wing Hang Bank in Tsim Sha Tsui. She was required to handle residential mortgage applications. OCBC Wing Hang Credit Limited (OCBC Credit) is a subsidiary of OCBC Wing Hang Bank.The court heard that on July 15, 2021, the defendant requested a colleague to refer residential mortgage loan clients of OCBC Credit to a financial intermediary for arranging mortgage refinancing from other banks or financial institutions so that the financial intermediary could earn the relevant referral fees. The defendant promised to offer 70 per cent of the referral fees to the colleague as commissions.OCBC Wing Hang Bank did not allow its employees to offer, solicit or accept advantages its relation to its business. The defendant’s colleague did not accept the offer.OCBC Wing Hang Bank had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.The prosecution was today represented by prosecuting counsel Marc Andrew Corlett, assisted by ICAC officer Pan Pan.To enhance the corruption prevention capabilities of banks, the ICAC has recently launched the “Corruption Prevention Guide for Banks” which assists banks in managing corruption risks in core operations through analysing case scenarios and providing corresponding corruption prevention safeguards. To promote probity culture in the banking sector, an Ethics Promotion Programme for the Banking Industry was also launched, under which a self-learning animation series “Unveil the Secret: Integrity Myths in the Banking Industry” was produced to help frontline bank staff understand common corruption loopholes.
09
Feb 2023
Security supervisor jailed for soliciting bribes from subordinateA security supervisor, charged by the ICAC, was today (February 7) sentenced to five months’ imprisonment at the Shatin Magistrates’ Courts for soliciting bribes of over $10,000 from a subordinate security guard for assisting the latter to get promoted to assistant security supervisor.Luk Pui-suet, 54, supervisor of Hong Kong Guards Limited (HKGL), was earlier found guilty of two counts of agent soliciting an advantage, contrary to Section 9(1)(a) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO).In sentencing, Magistrate Mr Pang Leung-ting reprimanded Luk for showing no remorse. The offences involved were serious in nature since Luk solicited advantages from a subordinate in her capacity as a direct supervisor so as to exert influence over the subordinate’s promotion. The magistrate took a starting point of six months’ imprisonment and reduced Luk’s jail term by one month after taking into account various mitigating factors.The court heard that at the material time, Luk was an assistant supervisor of HKGL posted to Shui Chuen O Estate, a public housing estate in Shatin. She was one of the three assistant supervisors of the estate responsible for assisting to manage about 40 security guards.In November 2020, one of the security guards Tang Kam-ngau asked Luk about his chance of promotion. Tang believed that Luk would succeed the then supervisor after the latter’s retirement in mid-December 2020, leading to an assistant supervisor vacant post.Afterwards, Luk told Tang on two occasions that she would assume the post of supervisor and solicited two bribes, one of $5,000 to $8,000 and another of at least $5,000, from Tang for assisting him to get promoted to assistant supervisor.Tang gave Luk a red packet containing $2,000 cash, but Luk did not accept the red packet as the amount did not meet $5,000.HKGL prohibited its staff members from soliciting and accepting advantages in relation to their official duties. HKGL had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.Tang Kam-ngau, the security guard concerned, was earlier charged by the ICAC with bribery in a separate case. He pleaded guilty to three counts of offering an advantage to an agent and sentencing was adjourned to this Friday (February 10).The prosecution was today represented by Senior Public Prosecutor Rosa Lo, assisted by ICAC officer Jeff Ng.

Back To Top

近期的廉署案例 (商界)


20
2023年4月
廉署調查貪污揭前保險代理涉訛稱客戶投保詐騙佣金150萬元廉政公署今日(4月20日)落案起訴一名保險代理涉嫌藉訛稱20名客戶向一間保險公司投保多份保單,詐騙該保險公司佣金共約150萬元。楊恩濤,31歲,安盛金融有限公司(安盛)前保險代理,被控兩項串謀欺詐罪名,違反普通法。被告明天(4月21日)會被帶往東區裁判法院答辯。被告於案發時是安盛保險代理,其上線經理為安盛一名分行經理。若保險代理成功售出保險產品,可獲發首年佣金,其上司亦可獲發上線佣金。安盛於2017年8月至2018年6月期間,接獲21份聲稱由20名客戶申請的保單,該些保單由被告或上述分行經理另一名下線代理售出。被告涉嫌與上述分行經理及該下線代理一同串謀,向安盛訛稱該等投保申請真的由有關客戶提出,導致安盛批准申請,以及向三人發放佣金。廉署接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現該等客戶並沒有提出上述投保申請,亦未曾就該等保單繳付保費。有關保單其後因「斷供」失效。如安盛知悉該21份投保申請載有虛假資料,便不會批核申請,及向被告、該分行經理及下線代理發放佣金共約150萬元。安盛在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。
20
2023年4月
遭廉署起訴連鎖快餐店前僱員承認隱瞞利益衝突判授工程候判一名被廉政公署起訴的連鎖快餐店前助理工程師,今日(4月20日)在粉嶺裁判法院承認隱瞞自己是一間承辦商的主要股東,詐騙連鎖快餐店把兩項工程判授予該承辦商。陳耀華,53歲,大家樂企業有限公司(大家樂企業)前助理工程師,承認兩項欺詐罪名,違反《盜竊罪條例》第16A條。署理主任裁判官黃士翔將案件押後至5月3日判刑,以待索取被告的背景及社會服務令報告。被告獲准保釋。案情透露,被告於2021年2月至12月初任職大家樂企業助理工程師,職責包括為母公司大家樂集團有限公司(大家樂集團)一個廠房的工程和維修項目,向承辦商索取報價。根據大家樂集團僱員手冊,該集團及其子公司的僱員須避免利益衝突。如僱員在一個機構有任何權益,而該機構與大家樂集團及其子公司有業務往來,僱員必須向大家樂集團申報。被告於2021年3月至9月期間,被指派為上述廠房兩項工程向承辦商索取報價,一項為保安更亭的更換工程,另一項則為空調系統維修工程。被告就該有關工程各提交了三份報價單,而被告兩次均建議大家樂集團把工程判授予領冠工程有限公司(領冠)。該兩項工程最終都判授予領冠,涉及費用共約70,000元。廉署接獲貪污投訴遂展開調查,發現被告案發時是領冠的唯一董事和主要股東,但被告從沒向大家樂集團申報有關事宜。如大家樂集團知悉被告是領冠的董事和股東,便不會委聘領冠進行該些工程。大家樂集團在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由廉署人員梁衛國代表出庭。廉署提醒機構僱員,應避免利益衝突及適時向僱主作出相關申報。僱員在處理職務上隱瞞利益衝突使自己或親友從中獲利,有可能觸犯《防止賄賂條例》或其他刑事罪行。廉署建議機構為僱員制定清晰的處理利益衝突指引及申報機制,僱員亦應遵從相關指引。「如何處理利益衝突」專題網頁
19
2023年4月
廉署起訴兩名前「工頭」涉向「三跑」紮鐵工收賄10萬元廉政公署今日(4月19日)落案起訴香港國際機場第三跑道項目(「三跑」項目)分判商兩名前「工頭」,涉嫌從五名紮鐵工人收受非法回佣共約10萬元,以協助對方繼續獲該分判商聘用。徐二高,47歲,及郭天保,42歲,同為德鑄工程有限公司(德鑄)前紮鐵工「工頭」,被控五項串謀使代理人接受利益罪名,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(1)(a)條。二人已獲廉署准予保釋,以待星期五(4月21日)在西九龍裁判法院答辯。德鑄為「三跑」項目分判商,負責招聘建築工人進行各類工程。徐二高及郭天保任職「工頭」,帶領同一組紮鐵工人在項目工地工作。兩名被告涉嫌於2020年8月至2021年4月期間,分別串謀五名紮鐵工接受五筆非法回佣合共約10萬元,每筆由約3,900元至約$33,000元不等,以協助該等工人繼續受僱於德鑄。廉署發言人呼籲建築工人切勿啞忍貪污,如建築工人被要求提供非法回佣以換取受僱,應拒絕並向廉署舉報。24小時舉報貪污熱線:25 266 366。廉署近年採取連串執法行動,打擊向建築工人收取非法回佣的違法行為。就「三跑」項目而言,廉署已落案起訴23名該項目總承建商及分判商前僱員貪污,當中11人認罪或經審訊被定罪,判囚最高10個月。九人尚待審訊,一人獲控方不提證供起訴,餘下二人為本案被告,將於星期五答辯。有關案件尚在調查中,廉署不排除會有更多人士被檢控。香港機場管理局、有關總承建商中國水電–中國電建–保華–建信聯營及德鑄在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。
19
2023年4月
前銀行經理被廉署起訴行賄同事轉介按揭客戶予財務中介認罪候判一名被廉政公署落案起訴的銀行經理今日(4月19日)在觀塘裁判法院承認賄賂同事,將銀行的附屬公司住宅按揭客戶轉介予一名財務中介向其他銀行或財務機構申請轉按物業。周碧心,47歲,華僑永亨銀行有限公司(華僑永亨銀行)前助理客戶服務經理,承認一項向代理人提供利益罪名,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(2)(a)條。暫委裁判官莊靜慧將案件押後至5月5日判刑,以待索取被告的背景及社會服務令報告。被告還押懲教署看管。被告案發時在華僑永亨銀行尖沙咀分行任職,需處理住宅按揭貸款申請。華僑永亨信用財務有限公司(華僑永亨財務)是華僑永亨銀行的附屬公司,從事借貸業務。案情透露被告於2021年7月15日,要求一名同事把華僑永亨財務的住宅按揭客戶轉介予一名財務中介,以安排向其他銀行或財務機構申請轉按物業,從而令財務中介賺取轉介費。被告並向該同事承諾提供佣金,計法為轉介費的七成。華僑永亨銀行不容許僱員就其業務提供、索取或接受利益。被告的同事並沒有接受其提議。華僑永亨銀行在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。控方今日由大律師Marc Andrew Corlett代表出庭,並由廉署人員彭偉發協助。為提升銀行的防貪能力,廉署推出全新《銀行防貪指南》,透過剖析貪污案例和提供相應的防貪措施,協助銀行管理其主要營運範疇的貪污風險。為與業界並肩構建廉潔文化,廉署亦推出「銀行業誠信推廣計劃」,包括製作「銀行業誠信解密系列」網上自學培訓動畫,協助前線銀行職員了解常見的貪污陷阱。
09
2023年2月
保安主管向下屬索賄罪成判囚五個月廉政公署早前落案起訴一名保安主管,向一名警衛員下屬索賄逾10,000元,以協助對方擢升為助理保安主管。被告今日(2月7日)在沙田裁判法院被判入獄五個月。陸蓓雪,54歲,香港警衛主管,早前被裁定兩項代理人索取利益罪名成立,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(1)(a)條。裁判官彭亮廷判刑時斥責陸蓓雪毫無悔意,又指她作為直屬上司向下屬索取利益,藉此影響下屬的晉升機會,罪行性質嚴重。裁判官以監禁六個月為量刑起點,惟考慮到多項求情因素,故將刑期扣減一個月。案情透露,陸蓓雪於案發時任職香港警衛助理主管,派駐沙田公共屋邨水泉澳邨。陸蓓雪是該邨三名助理主管之一,協助管理約40名警衛員。其中一名警衛員鄧金牛於2020年11月向陸蓓雪查詢晉升機會,他相信時任主管同年12月中退休後,陸蓓雪會接任主管一職,令邨內出現一個助理主管的空缺職位。陸蓓雪其後兩次向鄧金牛表示自己將接任主管一職,並向對方索取兩筆賄款以協助對方晉升為助理主管,其中一筆金額為介乎5,000元至8,000元,另一筆則最少5,000元。鄧金牛向陸蓓雪提供一封2,000元現金的利是,但陸蓓雪因利是金額未達5,000元而沒有接受。香港警衛不容許員工就處理職務事宜索取及接受利益,並在廉署調查案件期間提供全面協助。廉署早前分案控告上述警衛員鄧金牛,他承認三項向代理人提供利益罪名,案件訂於星期五(2月10日)判刑。控方今日由高級檢控官羅心怡代表出庭,並由廉署人員吳卓謙協助。

回到頂部