Recent ICAC Cases

30
Sep 2022
Estate agent charged by ICAC jailed for soliciting ‘tea money’ from flat owner to negotiate higher selling price

An estate agent, charged by the ICAC, was today (September 30) sentenced to three and a half months in jail after admitting at the Tuen Mun Magistrates’ Courts that he had solicited a “tea money” of $9,000 from a flat owner for negotiating a higher selling price of the latter’s residential property at $4.568 million.

Yeung Tak-ming, 64, property agent of Centaline Property Agency Limited (Centaline Property), pleaded guilty to one count of agent soliciting an advantage, contrary to Section 9(1)(a) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO).

In sentencing, Deputy Magistrate Mr Benny Lo Wing-ho said the offence committed by the defendant was serious in nature, warranting a deterrent sentence. He took a starting point of six months’ imprisonment, and reduced the defendant’s jail term to three and a half months having considered his guilty plea and other mitigating factors.

The court heard that around April to May 2020, a flat owner engaged Centaline Property to sell his residential property in Tuen Mun. In early August, the defendant arranged a potential buyer to view the property but the offer did not meet the flat owner’s target. The flat owner later told the defendant that $4.55 million was the lowest agreeable selling price.

The property was eventually sold to the buyer at $4.568 million, which was $18,000 higher than the price asked by the flat owner. The defendant admitted that he subsequently solicited a “tea money” of $9,000 from the flat owner as a reward for negotiating a higher property selling price.

Centaline Property did not allow its estate agents to solicit any advantage from its clients. The flat owner subsequently learned from Centaline Property that he was not required to pay any “tea money” to the defendant, and thus no payment was made.

The ICAC investigation arose from a corruption complaint. Centaline Property had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.

The prosecution was today represented by Senior Public Prosecutor Marcus Lee, assisted by ICAC officer Dirk Cheung.

The ICAC reminds estate agents that soliciting or accepting advantages in the course of procuring transactions without permission constitutes breaches of the POBO. Property owners and buyers should report to the ICAC immediately if corruption is suspected.

Back To Top

近期的廉署案例 (商界)

30
2022年9月
地产代理索「茶钱」助业主议高价卖楼遭廉署起诉判囚三个半月

廉政公署早前落案起诉一名地产代理,控告他向一名业主索取「茶钱」9,000元,为对方的住宅物业洽商较高售价,以456.8万元售出。被告今日(9月30日)在屯门裁判法院承认控罪,判囚三个半月。

杨德明,64岁,中原地产代理有限公司(中原地产)地产代理,承认一项代理人索取利益罪名,违反《防止贿赂条例》第9(1)(a)条。

暂委裁判官劳颖豪判刑时称,被告所犯罪行性质严重,须判处阻吓性刑罚。他以监禁六个月为量刑起点,考虑到被告认罪及其他求情因素,遂将刑期减至三个半月。

案情透露,一名业主约于2020年4月至5月委託中原地产出售其屯门住宅物业。被告于2020年8月初陪同一名准买家视察物业,但对方出价未能满足业主要求。业主遂向被告表示455万元为最低售价。

单位最终以456.8万元售予该买家,高于业主开出的售价18,000元。被告承认其后向上述业主索取9,000元「茶钱」,作为成功洽商较高物业售价的报酬。

中原地产不容许其地产代理向顾客索取任何利益。业主其后从中原地产知悉,并不需要向被告支付「茶钱」,故他沒有付款。

廉署早前接获贪污投诉遂展开调查。中原地产在廉署调查案件期间提供全面协助。

控方今日由高级检控官李卓颖代表出庭,并由廉署人员张德福协助。

廉署提醒物业代理,在物业交易中未获许可索取或收受利益,会触犯《防止贿赂条例》。物业买卖双方如怀疑遇到贪污,应立即向廉署举报。

回到顶部