Recent ICAC Cases

05
Oct 2021
Driver charged by ICAC jailed for work injury compensation fraud

A driver, charged by the ICAC, was today (October 5) sentenced to nine months’ imprisonment at the Kwun Tong Magistrates’ Courts for having deceived three companies into granting him sick leaves and paying him work injury compensations totalling about $96,000 with false medical certificates and receipts issued by a registered Chinese medicine practitioner.

Tsang Fan-kit, 27, driver, earlier pleaded guilty to five charges—three of conspiracy to defraud, contrary to Common Law; and two of fraud, contrary to Section 16A(1) of the Theft Ordinance.

In sentencing, Principal Magistrate Ms Bina Chainrai remarked that she had to impose a deterrent sentence on the defendant.

Registered Chinese medicine practitioner, Tse Fook-cheong, 66, earlier pleaded guilty to two counts of conspiracy to defraud jointly charged with Tsang. Tse was earlier sentenced to a jail term of two months, suspended for 12 months.

The case arose from a corruption complaint. Subsequent ICAC enquiries revealed the above offences.

The court heard that at the material time, Tsang was separately employed as driver by TNT Express Worldwide (HK) Limited (TNT), The Garden Company Limited (Garden) and Hong Kong Television Networks Limited (HKTV). Tse was a registered Chinese medicine practitioner and the operator of a Chinese medical clinic—Hong Tak Tong.

Between May 2016 and November 2018, Tsang respectively reported work injury to the three companies and took sick leaves by submitting 88 medical certificates issued by Tse. The sick leave certificates stated that Tsang was suffering from back pain.

ICAC investigation revealed that 11 of the medical certificates covering 95 days of sick leave involving work injury compensations totalling about $ 47,000 were issued when Tse was out of town.

The court also heard that when Tsang was taking sick leave granted by HKTV and Garden, he worked for another employer between September 2017 and February 2018. He further submitted various other medical certificates and receipts to the two companies to falsely claim work injury compensations amounting to about $49,000.

Should Garden and HKTV know that Tsang was fit to work for another employer when he was granted sick leave, they would not have approved and released the relevant compensations to Tsang, the court heard.

TNT, Garden and HKTV had rendered full assistance to the ICAC during its investigation into the case.

The prosecution was today represented by ICAC officer Michael Lau.

Back To Top

近期的廉署案例 (商界)

05
2021年10月
遭廉署起诉司机诈骗工伤赔偿判囚九个月

廉政公署早前落案起诉一名司机,使用一名註册中医师发出的虚假医生证明书及医疗服务收据,诈骗三间公司批准他放病假及向他发放工伤赔偿共约96,000元。被告今日(10月5日)在观塘裁判法院被判入狱九个月。

曾繁杰,27岁,司机,早前承认五项罪名,即三项串谋诈骗,违反普通法;及两项欺诈,违反《盗窃罪条例》第16A(1)条。

主任裁判官钱礼判刑时称,她必须判处具阻吓性的刑罚。

註册中医师谢復昌,66岁,早前承认两项与曾繁杰同被控的串谋诈骗罪名。他早前被判入狱两个月,缓刑12个月。

廉署早前接获贪污投诉,调查后揭发上述罪行。

案情透露,曾繁杰于案发期间先后获TNT Express Worldwide (HK) Limited (TNT)、嘉顿有限公司(嘉顿)及香港电视网络有限公司(香港电视)聘任为司机。註册中医师谢復昌则经营中医诊所康德堂。

曾繁杰于2016年5月至2018年11月期间,分別向该三间公司报称工作时受伤,并向有关公司递交由谢復昌发出的88张医生证明书以放取病假。有关医生证明书列明曾繁杰被诊断患有腰痛。

廉署调查显示,其中11张涵盖95天病假的医生证明书,是谢復昌不在香港时发出,涉及的工伤赔偿共约47,000元。

案情透露,曾繁杰于获嘉顿及香港电视批准放病假时,于2017年9月至2018年2月期间为另一名僱主工作。当时他再向嘉顿及香港电视递交另外多张医生证明书及医疗服务收据,以向该两间公司虚假申索工伤赔偿约49,000元。

案情透露,假如嘉顿及香港电视知悉曾繁杰在放病假期间,身体状况适合为另一名僱主工作,均不会批准及向他发放相关赔偿。

TNT、嘉顿及香港电视在廉署调查案件期间提供全面协助。

控方今日由廉署人员刘成华代表出庭。

回到顶部